Classical guitar practice 3/11/2018

instrument-3068067_960_720

Learning the Classic Guitar, Part Two by Aaron Shearer

The amount of dust on that poor dear (no, not the one above, my one) was a mute, yet scathing, rebuke for my negligence. A little TLC later, and I was surprised to find out that the batteries in my tuner were still good. I was even more surprised to find that the guitar had barely gone out of tune sitting silently those many months.

For the sake of digging deep, I really should start from page one. I just had to know something first. Could I still remember the first practice exercise that actually starts to sound like a catchy tune all of its own, Serenade II (p. 46 of Shearer)?

I don’t have adequate control of lighting or audio quite yet (soon), so everyone gets a reprieve. I won’t be posting my first crack at Serenade in so long. Needless to say, it wasn’t as good as this fellow’s interpretation of Serenade I from two pages before. The only difference between II and I is that II uses eighth/quarter/eighth syncopation instead of the series of eighth notes in I. I need to get the point where can be as expressive as he is with even this simple of a tune.

Leave a comment