Daily Log Entry 3/15/2017 1:50 AM

Busy Day. Daily Log entries are now to be blog entries. Story installments will also be blog entries, but I’ll be creating a page to serve as a table of contents for those since story installments are going to be a small percentage of content at least for the foreseeable future. The real action is in the day to day stuff. That’s where I have all the fun and you’ll find links to latest material most often. This I update pretty much every single day. This is my free time, and I love it.

Biggest blog-related events today, however tangential they may sound:

Bought a huge collection of woodworking plans. After I have a chance to see that I like what I bought or not, I might have something positive to say about that here.

Bought a jobsite table saw and a roto-saw, as well as new Milwaukee blades for the Rockwell Bladerunner.

Picked up a bunch more crafting supplies, mostly from the kitchen section at the local 5 & dime.

Recorded an intro video for a tutorial series on rubber mold making. Sent a request for copyright permission to the company that makes the product I’m using. Awaiting response. If none by the time I’m ready for the next video, I’ll revise plans accordingly.

Created a task list, because it’s gotten to the point where I’ve got so many long-arc irons in the fire it’s easy to become befuddled at all the options available. There are no deadlines. Just the satisfaction of creating and sharing.

Except for one self-imposed deadline for Patreon, even though there’s no Patrons for them yet…monthly wallpapers. Gotta do something graphic soon.

Created a Twitter account: Follow me! Oh, wait. No. For silly Twitter reasons, my first activity on Twitter was getting blocked. Gotta sort that out. Silly Twitter.

Created a LinkedIn account, because I’m all about pre-maturity here. Connect with me.

Made the command decision as proprietor of F. W. Balsinger Used & Rare books (website/blog coming soon) that Rocky Mountain Bog Monster is a synergistic marketing effort for book sales. Problem: the only books I have for sale right now are agricultural implement manuals for a consignor. So RMBM is also my R&D division. Keeps everything legit on the business side of things and now I’m up front about it because I know now.

Realized that Spotify might be a really weak way to share the music I like and listen to while crafting. So I started a YouTube playlist. Before I’m done there will be a great many, mostly instructional, some entertainment. Get in early and subscribe to my channel. Expect slow but steady growth.

Started work on the F. W. Balsinger Used & Rare Books page.

Figured out how to weave in Rohg Skoler.

Updated Patreon profile page with social media links. Flagged for follow-up when Twitter stops being silly and there’s at least something at the bookstore page to post.

This update, to be cross-posted momentarily.

Next primary task, after rotating through follow-ups on these: re-organize this blog as noted at the beginning of this post. Updating a page doesn’t generate much content that anyone finds out about. Switching it around just helps traffic, because I can dream, can’t I?

After that, it’s time to do my first screencast tutorial on…screencasting! Learn along with the Bog Monster, why don’tcha?

Upcoming tasks fall under various tutorial series to which I’ll be adding over time:

  • Screencasting
  • World Building
  • Using Polymer Clay
  • Rubber Mold Making
  • Terrain Modeling
  • Painting Miniatures
  • Crafting with project board
  • Woodworking
  • Woodburning
  • Drawing
  • GIMP
  • Inkscape
  • DAZ 3D
  • Blender
  • Cricut Design Space
  • AutoDesk Sketchbook
  • ArtRage

Basically, if I either know it and do it related to RMBM or I’m learning it because 1) fun! and 2) RMBM, I plan on posting videos…progressively better videos. Nice, short, one-point videos that shouldn’t run more than 10 minutes for the most part.

So yeah, busy day. And it’s 1:50 AM on a work night. I’m jacked up on caffeine and have a serious urge to stay up late working on the next task. 6 AM future me would be livid at present me if he weren’t going to be so painfully groggy, so I should be nice and give future me about five hours of sleep before going back to the paying gig.

Image credit: Public domain at pixabay.

 

Author: Rocky Mountain Bog Monster

Lifelong student with interests a mile wide and an inch deep. Autodidact. Pedant, hopefully of the slightly more pleasant sort. Sharer of things learned along the way. Lately of a creative bent.

Leave a Reply

